Wildflower Hotspots in Northern California

Natural History Wanderings Postings on Wildflower Hotspots in Northern California

Coastal and Inland

North Coast Redwood Parks https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2011/04/12/visiting-north-coast-redwood-country/

Table Mt. https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/04/03/table-mountain-wildflower-report/

Bear Valley https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/04/24/bear-valley/

Pt. Reyes https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2011/04/09/pt-reyes-a-top-wildlife-and-wildflower-destination/

Mt. Tam https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/04/15/mt-tam-wildflowers-hiking-views-and-astronomy/

Skyline Serpentine Prairie https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/04/20/skyline-serpentine-prairie-at-redwood-regional-park/

Mt. Diablo https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/03/31/mt-diablo-wildflower-trails/

Mines Road https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/05/01/mines-road-wildflowers/

Edgewood https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/03/25/edgewood-park-and-natural-preserve/

Big Basin https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/07/25/big-basin-state-park/

Pt. Lobos https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/07/30/pt-lobos-a-must-do-but-avoid-the-crowds/

Pinnacles  https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2011/04/04/pinnacles-rocky-spires-condors-wildflowers-and-caves/

Big Sur https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2012/03/09/big-sur-part-1-highlights/
https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2012/03/10/big-sur-part-2-visiting-natural-history-and-photography/

Foothills

Sierra Foothills  https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2012/04/13/wildflower-hunting-in-the-sierra-nevada-foothills/

Hell’s Half Acre and South Yuba Foothills https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/04/25/1519/

High Mountains

Lassen https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/06/02/lassen-the-forgotten-national-park/

Lakes Basin and Plumas County https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/05/23/plumas-county-lakes-basin-wildflower-and-fall-foliage-hotspots/

Carson Pass https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/05/30/the-best-wildflower-spot-in-the-sierra/

Yosemite  https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/04/27/spring-in-yosemite-wildflowers-and-waterfalls/

Eastern Sierra https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/05/26/best-of-two-worlds-eastern-sierra-nevada-and-white-mountain-hikes-drives-and-wildflowers/

White Mountain https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/05/26/best-of-two-worlds-eastern-sierra-nevada-and-white-mountain-hikes-drives-and-wildflowers/

Best Sierra Nevada Wildflower Hotspots  https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2011/07/12/sierra-nevada-wildflower-hotspots/

Best Sierra Nevada Wildflower Hikes https://naturalhistorywanderings.com/2010/06/05/best-sierra-nevada-wildflower-hikes/

Responses

  1. Sandy, thanks for the information, will have to keep checking them out

    Like

  2. figueroa mountain any blooms?

    Like

  3. There is a white wildflower growing long Hwy 1 in N. California, fairly profusely. It resembles Queen Anne’s Lace. What is this plant?

    herbmilley@gmail.com

    Like

    • Do you have a photo of it or a more detailed description? It could be Cow Parsnip or Hemlock?

      Like

  4. Another great spot to see tons of wild flowers is Shell Creek in San Luis Obispo County. It’s not an easy place to get to but if one follows it all the way south, you will wind up on Hwy. 58, which leads to the Carizzo Plain, a National Monument that, in a normal rainfal year, has as many wildflowers as any place I’ve ever seen.

    Like

  5. Thanks for assembling this comprehensive list! Also, your readers might be interested to know that the Western Railway Museum in Solano County runs special train rides of its historic streetcars throughout April, through fields of wildflowers, especially to view the beauty of this season. Visit wrm.org for info.

    Like

  6. […] Northern California Wildflower Hotspots (a series of postings on wildflower hotspots on Natural History Wanderings) […]

    Like

  7. Your link for Edgewood seems a bit off. Thanks for providing this resource!

    Like

    • It is more than a bit off. It went to Mt. Diablo. Many thanks for finding it and letting me know. It has been corrected.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: