Posted by: Sandy Steinman | March 31, 2019

2019 April CNPS Wildflower Field trips

California Native Plant Society Field Trips:

(for more information on trips go to chapter websites; also check out chapter websites for late trip postings)

Bristlecone (Mono, Inyo and NE Kern counties) http://bristleconecnps.org/index.php

East Bay CNPS http://www.ebcnps.org/

Marin CNPS http://www.marin.edu/cnps/

  • Ring Mt. Thursday, April 4,   10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
  • Mt. Burdell Sunday, April 14, 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m
  • Chimney Rock Wednesday, April 17, 2019,  10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m
  • Spring Bounty: Native American Uses of Native Plants Saturday April 27, 10:00a.m. – 2:00p.m. Ring Mountain Open Space Preserve, Tiburon

Milo Baker (Sonoma county) https://milobaker.cnps.org/index.php/events/field-trips

  • Jepson Prairie Preserve (Dixon),  Sunday April 14, 2019;  10:30-3:00 RSVP Required
  • Healdsburg Ridge Open Space Preserve, Saturday April 20, 2019  10am- 2pm
  • Sonoma Horticultural Nursery – Rare plants in the Hidden Forest at Sonoma Horticultural Nursery With Mike Boss, the new nursery owner, founder of an award-winning landscape company, plant ecologist, and former docent at Strybing Arboretum April 25, 2019; 10:00 – 2:00.  Tour 10-12.  Lunch 12-1; Shopping and wandering 1:00 till closing.
  • Stump Beach Spring Wildflowers- Salt Point State Park, Monday, April 29  10:00am – 2:30pm (approx.)

Monterey https://montereybay.cnps.org/events/field-trips

You must register for field trips online through the Monterey Bay Area Hiking Group on http://www.meetup.com

  • Sunday, April 7 Fort Ord National Monument Spring Wildflower Tour
  • Wednesday, April 10 Williams Canyon Hike to Mitteldorf Preserve      
  • Wednesday, April 24 Fort Ord Spring Wildflower Hike
  • Saturday, April 27 Garzas Creek Broomrape Hike           
  • Sunday, April 28
    Upper Garzas Creek Hike BBQ/Potluck

Napa Valley http://www.napavalleycnps.org/

  • Saturday, April 6  HILLSIDE HIKE off Coomsville Road

  • Saturday, April 13  Skyline Park Hikes meet at Wildflower Show

  • Saturday, April 20  TUTEUR RANCH

  • Saturday,  April 27 SKYLINE PARK

North Coast (Eureka, Arcata and McKinleyville area ) http://northcoastcnps.org/

  • Apr. 10, Wed. 7:30 p.m.”Native Plants: the Wild among Us”
  • Apr. 14, Sun. 1-3 p.m. Botanizing the Hammond Trail Loop,
  • Apr. 20, Sat. 12:30-3:30 p.m. Native Plants in Arcata’s Gardens and Forest. A Godwit Days walk
  • Apr. 27, Sat. 10 a.m.-12 noon.  Ferns of the Dunes. A very short walk

Santa Clara Valley http://www.cnps-scv.org/

  • Wed Apr 3 – Thu Apr 4 North Table Mountain Ecological Reserve and Feather Falls (Butte County)
  • Sun Apr 7 10am – 4pm Uvas Canyon County Park (Morgan Hill) PRE-PAID PARKING ALERT : There is a $6 fee per car
  • Sat Apr 13 10am – 12pm Vernal Pool Wildflower Walk (Fremont)
  • Sun Apr 14 10am – 2pm Beginners Wildflower Id Walk @ Stile Ranch Trailhead, San Vicente Ave (at Fortini Rd), San Jose
  • Thu Apr 18 10am – 3pm Picchetti Ranch Open Space Preserve (Cupertino)

Santa Cruz http://www.cruzcnps.org

  • Mt Madonna Serpentine area  Tuesday, April 2, 9:30 am – 3:30 pm
  • Calero Park Lower Serpentine area  Sunday, April 7, 9:30 am – 2:00 pm
  • Calero Serpentine Loop  Wednesday, April 17, 9:30 am – 3:30 pm
  • Fort Ord National Monument  Sunday, April 21, 9:30 am – 3:30 pm

Yerba Buena (San Francisco/Northern San Mateo) http://cnps-yerbabuena.org/calendar/field-trips/

  • April 20, SATURDAY 10am- 2pm  San Bruno Mountain: Summit Trail
  • April 26, FRIDAY 10am- 3pm  Biodiversity Big Walk and Bioblitz

 

Links to southern California CNPS  Field Trips
CNPS Channel Islands Chapter Activities
CNPS Los Angeles-Santa Monica Mountains Chapter
CNPS Orange County Chapter Field Trips
CNPS Riverside-San Bernardino Chapter

If you are interested in information on other chapters go to: http://www.cnps.org/cnps/chapters/

Southern California Botanists Field Trips http://socalbot.org/trips.php

California Botanical Society Upcoming Field Trips https://calbotsoc.org/

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: