About these ads
Posted by: Sandy Steinman | October 24, 2012

Volunteer For Pacific Flyway Shorebird Survey

Citizen scientists and partner biologists conduct shorebird surveys throughout California each year between November 15th and December 15th.

Interested in Counting Shorebirds?
Citizen science is at the heart of the Pacific Flyway Shorebird Survey. Citizen scientists conduct shorebird surveys between November 15 and December 15 annually. Our hope is to recruit volunteers who are excited about taking ownership of a route and survey each year in order to contribute to the conservation of shorebirds and their habitats in the Pacific Flyway over the long term.

Time Commitment: ~3 days:

  • Training: Attend a protocol training session prior to the survey and get your site assignment.
  • Scouting: Become familiar with your site, make sure you know the access points and how long it will take to cover the area.
  • Survey: One day between November 15th and December 15th.


The best candidates for the project will

  • have their own optics (binoculars and scope)
  • posess reliable transportation
  • be willing to follow a protocol and enter data online into CADC
  • have computer knowledge and skills
  • have a passion for and dedication to shorebird conservation
  • be excited about making a long-term committment to the project

For general questions about volunteering please contact: Khara Strum kstrum@prbo.org


There are Citizen Science opportunities in the following areas:

Site Contact Institution Email
Humboldt Bay Mark Colwell Humboldt State University Mark.Colwell@humboldt.edu
Bodega Harbor Jackie Sones Bodega Marine Lab jlsones@ucdavis.edu
Tomales Bay Emiko Condeso Audubon Canyon Ranch emiko@egret.org
Bolinas Lagoon Lynne Stenzel PRBO Conservation Science lstenzel@prbo.org
San Francisco Bay Dave Shuford PRBO Conservation Science dshuford@prbo.org
Elkhorn Slough Susie Fork Elkhorn Slough Foundation skfork@gmail.com
Morro Bay Andrea Jones Audubon California ajones@audubon.org
Sacramento Valley Rice Country Monica Iglecia Audubon California miglecia@audubon.org
About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers

%d bloggers like this: